World News – AU – Following the release of the A League draw, Phoenix was relocated to play home games in Wollongong


. .

The bosses of the A-League are confident that by the beginning of the 2020-21 season on 27. By December almost all interstate travel restrictions will be relaxed.

The FFA released the game for the upcoming season on Tuesday. The games are to be played in five states.

The Wellington Phoenix are currently the only team that has to move for the season at this point. Their home games are played in Wollongong.

Wellington will remain confident that the New Zealand-Australian border can reopen sometime in 2021, but the overseas club will be spending at least part of this season with Wollongong as their new home base in a similar situation witnessed by the NRL Warriors in 2020.

The Phoenix’s first game in their new home will be on March 2. January against the champions Sydney FC.

Elsewhere, Queensland’s decision remains. December to reopen the border with all of NSW, due to the states and territories involved in the A-League encounter, only Western Australia a question mark.

Travelers from South Australia, NSW and Victoria must adhere to quarantine times when arriving in WA under the current restrictions.

Perhaps given these restrictions, Perth Glory won’t start its season until Jan.. January start when Adelaide United visits HBF Park.

The Glory has on 20. Another home game against Brisbane Roar on January 21st before traveling to NSW for three games on the road.

If WA restrictions are not relaxed by Christmas, the Reds’ game could be disrupted as their clash with Macarthur FC on Nov.. February in the HBF stadium it may also be doubtful whether travelers from NSW still have to be quarantined in WA at this time.

Greg O’Rourke, head of the FFA League, said anticipating COVID restrictions was just one of the considerations to be expected at the draw.

{to do that, « said O’Rourke.

The 2020-21 season starts on 27. December with a historic double header between the Macarthur expansion club and the Western Sydney Wanderers at Bankwest Stadium.

This game will be played alongside the W-League opener between the Wanderers and Melbourne City – the first time men’s and women’s competitions have started on the same day.

The Roar have also moved away from Suncorp Stadium – their home ground since the first A-League campaign – and their home games are played at Redcliffe’s Dolclin Stadium, north of Brisbane.

The league’s later start and subsequent start into the winter months has also created a challenge as access to venues primarily used by the NRL and AFL has yet to be negotiated.

The situation particularly affects Western United as eight home games have not yet been confirmed as a venue.

A-League, Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Central Coast Mariners FC, Melbourne City FC, Brisbane Roar FC, Melbourne Victory FC, W-League, Adelaide United Football Club, Perth Glory FC, 2021

World News – AU – After the publication of the A-League draw, Phoenix was relocated to play home games in Wollongong